Introducing THE LOGBOOK OF LOVE – a novel about the universal power of love!

We are very happy to report that we have a new addition on our fiction hotlist! Just in time for London book fair, we have added THE LOGBOOK OF LOVE by award-winning author Elina Hirvonen to our spring 2023 catalogue. This novel about the universal power of love – perfect for fans of Rachel Cusk – will be published in Finland by Wsoy in August 2023.

What’s love all about? In The Logbook of Love, conversations about love form a sea of connections among people from wildly different backgrounds and places. A world where everyone continues to search for meaning, hope and joy. This touching novel has already received high praise pre-publication:

“From one of Finland’s most talented writers comes a beautiful, compelling and evocative novel about the universal power of love in its many diverse forms and voices, taking readers from Finland to Iraq, Malawi, Morocco, Spain, Zambia and points further afield.”

Katja Pantzar, author of The Finnish Way, TarcherPerigee, Penguin Random House

“An exquisite meditation on human fragility, connection, and our yearning to find love, even in a world on fire. Hirvonen weaves together impossibly disparate, intimate stories of her friends strewn across the globe, and reveals commonality in the most diverse of circumstances, from Finland to Syria to Afghanistan to Iraq to Zambia. These stories are told with such compassion and love that despite the bitter struggles, the reader is left with a sense of hope. In a time of global division, this book is an essential reminder of all that unites us.”
Anu Partanen, author of The Nordic Theory of Everything, HarperCollins

Join the conversation about love!

Download THE LOGBOOK OF LOVE here. 

Rakkauksien lokikirja /
The Logbook of Love
Wsoy, August 2023, 250pp

Reading material: English sample
Finnish ms. in May/June 2023

About author

Elina Hirvonen

Elina Hirvonen is an award-winning author and documentary filmmaker whose works have been translated into many languages. Hirvonen’s debut novel, When I Forgot, made the front page of The New York Times Book Review, and received rave reviews from the Independent, Guardian, Financial Times and Globe and Mail.

Hirvonen has won the Kalevi Jäntti Prize, the Young Aleksis Prize, has been nominated for the prestigious Finlandia Prize. She has received the prestigious 2023 Werner Söderström Osakeyhtiö Literary Foundation Award, recognizing the artistic independence and high standard of her writing.

Her new novel, The Logbook of Love, was published in Finland in August 2023. The Logbook of Love is the first part of a trilogy of novels that create their world through conversations.


2023, Literary Fiction

The Logbook of Love

Elina Hirvonen

2023, Chapter Books (3-6 Years)

The Rescuers Julia and Charlie

Elina Hirvonen

2021, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Charlie and the Wombat Warriors

Elina Hirvonen

2021, Chapter Books (3-6 Years)

Princess Rascal and the Quarrel Spell

Elina Hirvonen

2020, Middle Grade (8-12 Years)

Julia & P.A.L

Elina Hirvonen

2019, Chapter Books (3-6 Years)

Princess Rascal and The Potty Words

Elina Hirvonen

2019, Literary Fiction

Red Storm

Elina Hirvonen

2017, Chapter Books (3-6 Years)

Princess Rascal

Elina Hirvonen

2015, Literary Fiction

When Time Runs Out

Elina Hirvonen

2005, Literary Fiction

When I Forgot

Elina Hirvonen