Laura Lindstedt wins the Finlandia Prize for Oneiron!

We are beyond thrilled to announce that Laura Lindstedt has won the Finlandia Prize, the highest-profile honor bestowed upon a Finnish author, for Oneiron (Teos 2015). Awarded by the Finnish Book Foundation, the prize is worth 30,000 euros. We wish Laura our warmest congratulations!

“Selecting the winning work was, in the end, easy: its voice, imagery and world were so distinctive. After giving myself permission to throw myself into its unreal world, everything suddenly became very real…The author’s ingenious way of renewing the form and structure of the novel is downright striking, and she does so in an extremely reader-friendly manner! This is a story about stories that could be true.”
– Heikki Harma, Finlandia Prize juror, musician and journalist

Rights sold:

We are also very happy to announce that rights to Oneiron have been sold in three territories: in Hungary to Scolar, in Bulgaria to Faber, and in Lithuania to Versus Aureus, publisher of authors including Virginia Woolf and Sofi Oksanen.

About Oneiron:

Performance artist Shlomith from New York, chief accountant Polina from Moscow, heart transplant patient Rosa Imaculada from Brazil, upper-crust Nina of Marseilles who is expecting twins, cancer patient Wlbgis from the Netherlands, aspiring model Maimuna from Senegal and Austrian teenager Ulrike meet in an empty, blank space after their respective deaths. Time, as we understand it, has ceased to exist, and all bodily sensations are gradually disappearing.

Lindstedt plays with genres from essay to poetry, transitioning from humor to rage – while asking her reader to contemplate the question of death’s inevitability.

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
LITHUANIA, Versus Aureus

Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
DENMARK, Turbine

Prizes, Oneiron
Finlandia Prize 2015
Toisinkoinen Prize 2015

Prizes, Scissors:
Nominated for the Finlandia Prize 2007
Nominated for the Helsingin Sanomat Literature Prize 2007

Reading material: Oneiron
English sample
English synopsis
Finnish edition





About author

Laura Lindstedt

Laura Lindstedt (b. 1976) became a critical darling with her adoption-themed debut novel Scissors (Sakset, Teos 2007), which earned her a nomination for the Finlandia Prize, the country’s most prestigious literary honour. Lindstedt’s second novel Oneiron (Teos 2015), a work of speculative fiction that takes place in the mysterious moments that follow one’s death, earned her the coveted Finlandia Prize of 2015 and was nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2017. Lindstedt’s success has continued with My Friend Natalia (Teos 2019) which has earned critical acclaim and has been sold to 12 territories. Together with author Sinikka Vuola, she has authored 101 tapaa tappaa aviomies (101 Ways to Kill Your Husband, Siltala 2022) which has been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize of 2024.

She is currently completing her Ph.D. thesis on French author Nathalie Sarraute.


2019, Literary Fiction

My Friend Natalia

Laura Lindstedt

2015, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt

2007, Literary Fiction


Laura Lindstedt