Finlandia-winning novel WHERE THE LIGHT COMES IN sold to Hungary!

Anne-Maija Aalto’s Finlandia-winning novel WHERE THE LIGHT COMES IN Hungarian rights sold!
We are delighted to let you know that the Hungarian rights to Anne-Maija Aalto’s YA title WHERE THE LIGHT COMES IN have been sold to Metropolis Media Group! They praised the book saying:

“A very original novel. As a publisher, I always try to find books that can suggest something new,  approach a topic from a new perspective, and this novel has surpassed all our expectations. Impressive and captivating dystopia, and these books have the potential to inspire young people to read.”
– Dr. Mund Katalin, Editor-in-Chief, Metropolis Media Group, Hungary

Download the English materials for WHERE THE LIGHT COMES IN here!

WHERE THE LIGHT COMES IN won the prestigious Finlandia prize for Children’s and YA literature in 2021, and was also selected as the audiece favourite! The jury said:

“The narration is effortless, the world distant yet timely. The great questions of humanity are present. The story elegantly invites young people to see how their relationships with their parents can change when they get to know them better.”


What is a person if you take away their memory? Who determines what we believe? A captivating story of rebellion, hope and humanity.

Alexei is a young man whose father runs a human research institute in Tokyo, which is now partly covered by the sea. New cargoes of test subjects regularly arrive at the facility, one containing Satomi, a young woman whose memory is set to be erased. Satomi becomes Alexei’s trial case, since he is meant to continue his father’s work. But something is already churning beneath the surface, and the younger generation can see the horrors of the system their parents have created.

Download the English materials here!

Mistä valo pääsee sisään, Otava, 2021. 320 pp.

Rights sold: 
FINLAND: Otava (orig.)

HUNGARY: Metropolis Media Group

About author

Anne-Maija Aalto

Anne-Maija Aalto is an award-winning Finnish author of both YA and adult fiction. Her YA novel Where the Light Comes In won the prestigious Finlandia Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature in 2021 and has received praise for its effortless narration, beautiful prose and compellingly current story.

Where the Light Comes In is a standalone sequel for Dragonfly which was nominated for the Topelius Prize in 2020. The prize is awarded yearly to an expectional novel for young people, and the jury described Dragonfly as “a deeply touching and beautifully written story of friendship, loss and social inequality.” Her other works include YA novel Into Deep Water and novel The Silence of Snow. Her books often dwelve into the darker sides of humanity, exploring the themes of loss, loneliness, identity and coming of age.

Anne-Maija holds a Bachelor of Arts in literature from the University of Turku where she also studied English and creative writing. She lives in Turku with her husband and an extensive collection of half-filled notebooks. When she isn’t writing, she can most likely be found walking in nature with her camera or lounging on the couch with a good book.


2021, Young Adult (13 or 14+)

Where the Light Comes In

Anne-Maija Aalto

2020, Young Adult (13 or 14+)


Anne-Maija Aalto