Simon & Schuster buys North American rights and btb Verlag German rights to The Women I Think About at Night by Mia Kankimäki

This is big! We’re thrilled to announce both a U.S. deal for Mia Kankimäki’s bestselling book The Women I Think About at Night and a two-book-deal in Germany for Mia Kankimäki!

Simon & Schuster acquired North American rights to The Women I Think About at Night: part travelogue, part biography, highlighting the lives of ten female adventurers, writers, and artists from around the world who have been lost to history, and how retracing their steps inspired the author’s own personal journey, sold to Ira Silverberg at Simon & Schuster, by Rhea Lyons at Hannigan, Salky, Getzler on behalf of Elina Ahlback Literary Agency. Rights have previously been sold to Orlando in the Netherlands.

”To be completely honest The Women I Think About at Night was one of very few books I returned from the Fair excited about. Elina, your pitch and your passion were one of few I remembered after hearing about who knows how many books – and led to me remembering, pursuing, and buying a book that I think will make many, many readers happy and inspired. The pitch deserves, and this comes from a former agent, best pitch of Frankfurt awards.”
– Ira Silverberg, Senior Editor, Simon & Schuster, Inc.

btb Verlag, Random House GmbH acquired German rights at auction to both The Women I Think About at Night and Kankimäki’s debut book: Things That Make One’s Heart Beat Faster (Otava 2013).

”Mia’s fascinating books will definitely make your heart beat faster: A beautiful, exceptional style, fancy ideas, honesty, bravery and wittiness – an exciting new voice. As our list includes such fine writers as Gloria Steinem, Lauren Elkin, Roxane Gay, Olivia Laing or Rebecca Solnit in our paperback list, I think Mia finds a publishing home with us which is the perfect environment for her and her work.   – Madlen Reimer, Editor, btb Verlag, Verlagsgruppe Random House

The Women I Think About At Night was our most requested Frankfurt title and a huge success at the recent Helsinki Book Fair, topping the bestseller lists!

What can a 40-something, childless woman do with her life? Hop on a plane and follow the footsteps of historical female figures: fearless explorers, gifted writers and passionate artists. For fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Click here to request reading materials!

Rights Sold:
The Women I Think About at Night

FINLAND:
Otava (orig.)
GERMANY:
btb Verlag/Random House (2-book-deal)
NETHERLANDS:
Uitgeverij Orlando
UNITED STATES:
Simon & Schuster (North American)

Mia Kankimäki


Mia Kankimäki has worked as an editor and copywriter. Her first book, Things That Make One’s Heart Beat Faster, a book that took her to Kyoto in search of Sei Shonagon, a Japanese noblewoman and writer who lived a thousand years ago. The book received, among others, the 2015 HelMet Award annually given by Helsinki libraries to ‘a future classic’.

Author photo by Otava Publishing

Bibliography


Mia Kankimäki

The Women I Think About At Night

2018, Non-Fiction

Related news