All the King's Men (a.k.a. When the King Dies)

Rights sold:

FINLAND: Otava (orig.)



DENMARK: Gyldendal

ESTONIA: Varrak Publishers



ITALY: Newton Compton



NORWAY: Cappelen Damm

POLAND: Czarna Owca

ROMANIA: Lebada Neagra

RUSSIA: Mann, Ivanov and Ferber

SLOVAKIA: Arkus Vydavatelstvo

SWEDEN: Bokfabriken

Original title: Kun Kuningas kuolee

Author: Elina Backman

Published: 2020

Publisher: Otava

Genre: Crime & Suspense

Pages: 495

Part of a series: Saana Havas series

Reading material

200pp English sample, synopsis, media kit

Download reading materials

Saana has been fired from her job as a click-bait journalist, so she decides to spend a summer with her aunt in a small town named Hartola. It sounds like a perfect opportunity to take it easy and recover. But when Saana begins to dig into the case of a teenage girl who died 30 years earlier, peace in the small town is shaken.

Meanwhile, in Helsinki, a fire-marked body is found at Suomenlinna Sea Fortress, and crime investigator Jan Leino and his team have a new case on their hands. However, the investigation isn’t going anywhere, and Jan fears that the murder at King’s Gate is just the beginning…

Saana and Jan continue working on their own cases until their paths cross – for more than one reason.


Winner of the Storytel Audio book Award 2020 for the Best Crime Novel


Foreign covers

Elina Backman

Elina Backman is an author and a media & marketing professional living in Helsinki. Elina loves books (all sorts), traveling, cycling and is a host of a Book & Wine Club. She is a creative soul with a commercial mind, and her goal is to find readers globally.

Her debut novel All the King's Men was published in 2020 and immediately gained an enormous amount of attention from the Finnish media, including a praising review by the biggest daily newspaper Helsingin Sanomat. The Havas series is now a best-selling series in Finland, with All the King's Men sold in 15 territories to-date, and an international TV series is in development.

Together with Heidi Holmavuo, Elina has also narrated the true crime podcast Ratkaisematon (Unsolved), which turned into a full-length audio book as the two crime writers started investigating the murder of a young girl in 1967. They were able to uncover new evidence and their research led the police to reopen the investigation. This story is narrated in the book Unsolved - The Case of Elli Immo.


Elina Backman

Before the Polar Night Falls

2022, Crime & Suspense

Elina Backman

Unsolved - The Case of Elli Immo

2022, Crime & Suspense

Elina Backman

Still Waters Run Deep (a.k.a The Isle of Sheep)

2021, Crime & Suspense

Elina Backman

All the King's Men (a.k.a. When the King Dies)

2020, Crime & Suspense

Releated news