The Undertaker

Reading material

English sample & synopsis
Finnish edition

Original title: Undertaker: Kuolemantuomio

Published: 2017

Publisher: CrimeTime

Class/genre: Crime & Thriller

Pages: 335

A moral study embodied in a hard-boiled crime novel in the vein of Dexter and The Shield.

Young student Tuomas Lintu and his girlfriend Maria have always tried to do the right thing, but with Maria’s depression, their underprivileged backgrounds and bills piling up, it’s not easy. When Tuomas’ brother dies, he agrees to organize the funeral, although he can’t even afford to buy food. Undertaker Jarmo Kivi offers him a helping hand in the form of a job at Kivi’s funeral parlor. Little does he know Kivi is a high-level hitman – and responsible for Tuomas’ brother’s death. Enter the heart of darkness…

The Undertaker is the opening of a gripping new series about the thin line between right and wrong, published to glowing reviews. The story was originally planned for a TV series, but the novel was finished first.

“The explosively energetic kick-off of a new series.”  – Savon Sanomat newspaper  

“At the top of its genre.” – Helsingin Sanomat newspaper  

“The potential to be an international success.” – Aamulehti newspaper  

Undertaker has international quality.” – Yle broadcaster  

Undertaker is also a work of art.” – Kauppalehti newspaper  

Undertaker sweeps you away, irresistibly.” – Kirjavinkit blog  

“A great start to an interesting series.” – Kirjan vuoksi blog  

“Suspense that will have readers hooked.” Lumiomena blog 

Marko Kilpi


Marko Kilpi (b. 1969) is an author and policeman. Praised by critics, his novels have been awarded several literary prize nominations. The Land of the Living was honored with the Savonia Prize for Literature and a Hollywood movie is in the making.

Bibliography


Marko Kilpi

The Land of the Living

2011, Crime & Thriller

Related news