The End of Sunset Grove

Reading material

English synopses
French, Italian, Spanish
and Finnish editions

Original title: Ehtoolehdon tuho

Published: 2015

Publisher: Teos

Class/genre: Literary

Pages: 289

Part of a serie: Sunset Grove trilogy

The final part of the trilogy marks a return to the retirement community. But the place no longer feels like home, and has turned into a state-funded, technology-driven pilot project in elderly care. The conclusion brings together characters lost along the way, and murky details are brought to light. Legal justice is also served – in unexpected ways. A natural, long-awaited death finally collects some, but still not all, of our main characters.


Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
CZECH REPUBLIC, Albatros Media
DENMARK, Jensen & Dalgaard
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SLOVAKIA, Albatros Media
SPAIN, Penguin Random House
WORLD ENGLISH, Pan Macmillan

“Once again Minna Lindgren taps into many sore spots that exist in Finland’s elderly care systems…the prose is multilayered and skilful. These old ladies speak flawless Finnish, and the author also sprinkles baffling teen speak and horrifying ‘consulting language’ into her text.”
– Keskisuomalainen newspaper, Finland

“Lindgren defends the human rights of her characters with gusto. No wonder, then, that the trilogy will shortly appear in several languages, including English, German and French.”
– Books from Finland literary journal

“The End of Sunset Grove warns us of a society in which human touch has been replaced by smart devices and nobody has a bookshelf at home.”
– Kirjavuori (“Book Mountain”) literature blog, Finland

“Minna Lindgren again makes a statement about elderly care, dignified life, death, and the use of state funds.”
– Kulttuuri kukoistaa (“Culture Blooms”) blog, Finland

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009 Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove Trilogy, which has been sold to 11 territories, and the final part The End of Sunset Grow was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written three standalones: Angry Widow (2018), A Far Far Love (2019) and Hope Never Dies (2020).

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


Minna Lindgren

Escape from Sunset Grove

2014, Literary

Minna Lindgren

Death in Sunset Grove

2013, Literary

Minna Lindgren

The Angry Widow

2018, Literary

Minna Lindgren

A Far, Far Love

2019, Literary

Minna Lindgren

Hope Never Dies

2020 Summer, Literary

Related news