Death in Sunset Grove

Reading material

English synopses
English sample
French, Italian, Spanish
Finnish edition

Original title: Kuolema Ehtoolehdossa

Published: 2013

Publisher: Teos

Class/genre: Literary

Pages: 305

Part of a serie: Sunset Grove trilogy

Who could imagine that anything illegal – whether it be suspicious deaths, thefts or the covert trading of medications – could happen in Sunset Grove retirement home? Its 90-year-old residents Siiri and Irma certainly can’t.

The lives of Siiri, Irma, and other Sunset Grove inhabitants are filled mostly with empty time punctuated by glasses of red wine, tram rides and funerals. Investigating the sudden strange occurrences at Sunset Grove, however, proves to be a more interesting pastime than playing cards with the ambassador and the woman in the wide-brimmed hat – not to mention the never-ending arts and crafts sessions, gym classes or accordion evenings (which the residents of the house attend mostly out of pity towards the employees).

Death in Sunset Grove is a devilishly funny and suspenseful story about old age, friendship and life in a relatively ordinary retirement home. Here the only fate worse than death is being drugged up and locked away inside the dementia ward. Even the sharpest senior can’t decipher all the nuances of this place; thankfully a few young people, including members of the biker gang and a grandchild’s boyfriend, offer some help.

FINLAND, Teos (Original publisher)
CZECH REPUBLIC, Albatros Media
DENMARK, Jensen & Dalgaard
GERMANY, Kiepenheuer & Witsch
FRANCE, Calmann-Lévy
ITALY, Marsilio
SLOVAKIA, Albatros Media
SPAIN, Penguin Random House
SWEDEN, Norstedts
WORLD ENGLISH, Pan Macmillan

Reading materials:
English sample (read an extract here)

”Minna Lindgren has written a mystery that, amidst its humour and tragedy, communicates much of the distress, indifference and shameless money-grubbing that are found in the treatment of the elderly,”
-Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE

“The characters of Siiri, Irma and Anna-Liisa are believable and full-blooded, as literary characters should be – not paper dolls. They are also funny…Lindgren’s humour easily brings to mind Giovanni Guaresch’s Don Camillo series, Graham Greene’s Monsignor Quixote and Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple. But while Greene puts his characters face to face with death in order to shake the truth out of them, Lindgren’s women offer up attitude and wisdom ripened by life.”
-Helsingin Sanomat newspaper

“Lindgren also describes the joys of advanced age: you can imbibe red wine without health concerns, there is plenty of time to enjoy the sights in your home town, and it’s never too late to find love.”

-Aamulehti newspaper, Finland

“The conversations between Irma, Siiri and Anna-Liisa sound so natural, alive and present in the moment that you can’t help but burst into laughter reading them. They are just the like the chats I have with my friends.”

-Ajatuksia kirjamaasta (“Thoughts from Book Land”) blog

Minna Lindgren

Minna Lindgren (b. 1963) is a freelance journalist and columnist known for her whimsical writing style and fearless approach to topics as strange as opera and death. In addition to novels, she has authored nonfiction books on classical music. In 2009 Lindgren won the Bonnier Journalism Prize for her article entitled “Father’s Death” (“Isän kuolema”).

Lindgren is best known for the Sunset Grove Trilogy, which has been sold to 11 territories, and the final part The End of Sunset Grow was nominated for the International Dublin Literature Award in 2019. She has also written three standalones: Angry Widow (2018), A Far Far Love (2019) and Hope Never Dies (2020).

Minna Lindgren’s books have been critical and commercial successes, in Finland and internationally.


Minna Lindgren

Escape from Sunset Grove

2014, Literary

Minna Lindgren

The End of Sunset Grove

2015, Literary

Minna Lindgren

The Angry Widow

2018, Literary

Minna Lindgren

A Far, Far Love

2019, Literary

Minna Lindgren

Hope Never Dies

2020, Literary

Related news