Orlando pre-empts Dutch rights to The Women I Think About at Night by Mia Kankimäki

Dutch publisher Uitgeverij Orlando pre-empts Mia Kankimäki’s wonderful narrative non-fiction title The Women I Think About at Night.

Uitgeverij Orlando publishes literary fiction and non-fiction titles. They aim to bring the best stories from around the world to the Dutch readers, and they are the publisher of strong female authors such as Rupi KaurVirginia Woolf and Jean Rhys. Mia Kankimäki and her night-women will feel like home at Orlando.

”I totally fell in love with this book. Mia Kankimaki actually did what we all would love to do: travel to all the places you have ever read about. She packed her bags and followed the footsteps of female writers, explorers and artists, women who were doing what they were passionate about. From Karen Blixen, Yayoi Kusama, Artemisia Gentileschi to Alexandra David-Neel, they all gave her valuable life lessons, like ’Turn your wounds into your strenghts’ (Gentileschi) or ’Be brave. It doesn’t matter if you’re scared’ (Blixen) or ’Follow the path that opens up in front of you’ (David Neel), and so the book is also Kankimaki’s story of overcoming her own fears. The Women I Think About at Night is a truly inspirational book, part memoir, part travellogue, part biography. Which you can’t stop reading.”
– Jacqueline Smit, Owner/Publisher, Orlando

The Women I Think About At Night was our most requested Frankfurt title and a huge success at the recent Helsinki Book Fair, topping the bestseller lists! For fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

At the Helsinki Book Fair, Mia Kankimäki and her book The Women I Think About At Night was a huge success: hundreds of fans were in the audience and queuing up for author’s signature. The book is now topping the bestseller lists in Finland.

Rights sold:

FINLAND:
Otava (orig)
NETHERLANDS:
Uitgeverij Orlando

Mia Kankimäki


Mia Kankimäki has worked as an editor and copywriter. Her first book, Things That Make One’s Heart Beat Faster, a book that took her to Kyoto in search of Sei Shonagon, a Japanese noblewoman and writer who lived a thousand years ago. The book received, among others, the 2015 HelMet Award annually given by Helsinki libraries to ‘a future classic’.

Author photo by Otava Publishing

Bibliography


Mia Kankimäki

The Women I Think About At Night

2018, Non-Fiction

Related news