Orlando pre-empts Dutch rights to The Women I Think About at Night by Mia Kankimäki

Dutch publisher Uitgeverij Orlando pre-empts Mia Kankimäki’s wonderful narrative non-fiction title The Women I Think About at Night.

Uitgeverij Orlando publishes literary fiction and non-fiction titles. They aim to bring the best stories from around the world to the Dutch readers, and they are the publisher of strong female authors such as Rupi KaurVirginia Woolf and Jean Rhys. Mia Kankimäki and her night-women will feel like home at Orlando.

”I totally fell in love with this book. Mia Kankimaki actually did what we all would love to do: travel to all the places you have ever read about. She packed her bags and followed the footsteps of female writers, explorers and artists, women who were doing what they were passionate about. From Karen Blixen, Yayoi Kusama, Artemisia Gentileschi to Alexandra David-Neel, they all gave her valuable life lessons, like ’Turn your wounds into your strenghts’ (Gentileschi) or ’Be brave. It doesn’t matter if you’re scared’ (Blixen) or ’Follow the path that opens up in front of you’ (David Neel), and so the book is also Kankimaki’s story of overcoming her own fears. The Women I Think About at Night is a truly inspirational book, part memoir, part travellogue, part biography. Which you can’t stop reading.”
– Jacqueline Smit, Owner/Publisher, Orlando

The Women I Think About At Night was our most requested Frankfurt title and a huge success at the recent Helsinki Book Fair, topping the bestseller lists! For fans of Eat, Pray, Love and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

At the Helsinki Book Fair, Mia Kankimäki and her book The Women I Think About At Night was a huge success: hundreds of fans were in the audience and queuing up for author’s signature. The book is now topping the bestseller lists in Finland.

Rights sold:

FINLAND:
Otava (orig)
NETHERLANDS:
Uitgeverij Orlando

Mia Kankimäki


Mia Kankimäki is the author of two best-selling books which blend travelogue, memoir, biography and women’s history. After taking a master’s degree in comparative literature at the University of Helsinki and working diligently in Finnish publishing, in 2010 she left her job and traveled to Japan to write her first book. Her books have received several literary awards, for example the Best Travel Book of the year 2013, the HelMet Award 2015, and Otava Book Foundation’s Non Fiction Award 2020. She currently lives in Helsinki, Finland, whenever she’s not traveling for her next book project.

Mia has been enthusiastic about Japanese culture for years, and is a qualified ikebana teacher of the Sogetsu school. Her first book Things That Make One’s Hear Beat Faster took her to Kyoto where she has spent long periods of writing and making research ever since. Kankimäki’s second book The Women I Think About at Night has sold over 36,000 copies in Finland and the translation rights have been sold to 15 territories, including USA and China.

 

Author photo by Otava Publishing

Bibliography


Mia Kankimäki

The Women I Think About At Night

2018, Non-Fiction


Mia Kankimäki

Things That Make One’s Heart Beat Faster

2013, Non-Fiction

Related news