Rights sold in Latvia to Memory of Water by Emmi Itäranta: 20 territories sold!

EmmiGeorgiaNewsletterAuthor Emmi Itäranta continues to gain new readers around the world. We are very happy to announce that Janis Roze has acquired Latvian rights to Itäranta’s speculative fiction debut novel, Memory of Water (Teos 2012). This represents the 20th language sold for Memory of Water.

Among other authors published by Janis Roze are Umberto Eco, Sandro Veronesi, Michel Houellebecq, Eric Emmanuel Schmidt, Laurent Gaudet, Silvie Germain and Mika Waltari.

In addition, Palitra L Publishing, publisher of Memory of Water in Georgia, has acquired rights to her follow-up, The City of Woven Streets (Teos 2015). This fall Itäranta enjoyed a very successful visit to Georgia to meet readers and members of the local media.

In January Emmi Itäranta will travel to Northern California, where she will spend two months as the first-ever Author in Residence of Silicon Valley Reads, an annual community program focusing on a timely theme. This year Silicon Valley Reads focuses on outstanding fiction addressing climate change. The event has been organized for 14 years.

Next year will see the publication of The City of Woven Streets in the UK and U.S. by HarperCollins: in the English-language market the novel will be published as The Weaver. This story in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin and Sheri S. Tepper is set in a world in which dreaming is forbidden.

Memory of Water was nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Philip K. Dick Award and the Golden Tentacle award, a category of the Kitschies fantasy and speculative fiction awards. It was also praised by Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, The Guardian and The Washington Post, and was included on the Honor List of the James Tiptree, Jr. Award. Film rights have been optioned.

RIGHTS SOLD: MEMORY OF WATER
Original publisher: FINLAND, Teos
WORLD ENGLISH, HarperCollins (2-book deal)
ARABIC, Dar Al Muna
BRAZIL, Record (2-book-deal)
BULGARIA, Perseus
CZECH, Albatros Media/Plus
DENMARK, Turbine
ESTONIA, Koolibri
FRANCE, Place des Editeurs (2-book deal)
GEORGIA, Palitra L Publishing
GERMANY, DTV/Reihe Hanser
HUNGARY, Metropolis Media (2-book deal)
ITALY, Sperling & Kupfer
JAPAN, Nishimura Shoten (2-book deal)
KOREA, The Book in My Life
LATVIA, Janis Roze
NORWAY, Gresvik Forlag
RUSSIA, Text Publishers
SPAIN, Ediciones B.
TURKEY, Dogan Egmont

RIGHTS SOLD: THE CITY OF WOVEN STREETS
WORLD ENGLISH: HarperCollins
BRAZIL: Record
FRANCE, Place des Editeurs
GEORGIA, Palitra L Publishing
HUNGARY: Metropolis Media
JAPAN: Nishimura Shoten

Reading material:
The City of Woven Streets
Finnish edition
English edition (not final)
English synopsis
Memory of Water
English edition
French edition
German edition
Spanish edition

Contact: info@ahlbackagency.com

Emmi Itäranta


Emmi Itäranta (b.1976) holds two MA degrees, one in Drama and another in Creative Writing. Her award-winning debut novel Memory of Water (Teemestarin kirja) was published in Finland in 2012 to great accolades, followed by The Weaver (Kudottujen Kujien Kaupunki) in 2015. Itäranta’s writing has been compared to that of Ursula K. Le Guin.

Her honours include the Young Aleksis Kivi Prize 2013, the Kalevi Jäntti Literary Prize 2012 and first place in the Teos Fantasy and Sci-Fi Literary Contest 2011.

Memory of Water has also been nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award recognizing the best science fiction novel published in the UK in 2014, and the Golden Tentacle award. In addition, Itäranta has been included on the Honor List of the James Tiptree, Jr. Award.

Rights to Memory of Water have been sold in 21 languages to date.

Itäranta’s cv is an eclectic mix of writing-related activities, including stints as a columnist, theatre critic, press officer and dramaturge. Her poems, short stories, articles and essays have appeared in anthologies, film magazines and science fiction magazines in the UK and Finland. She lives in Canterbury, in the United Kingdom.

Bibliography


Emmi Itäranta

The Weaver

2015, Fantasy & S/F


Emmi Itäranta

Memory of Water

2012, Fantasy & S/F

Related news