Johanna Sinisalo’s prize-winning The Blood of Angels sold to France

The French rights to Johanna Sinisalo’s latest book, The Blood of Angels, have been sold to Actes Sud for publication in 2013. Published in September 2011, the novel has received excellent reviews and won the P.E. Svinhufvud Memorial Foundation Literary Prize. Actes Sud has previously published Sinisalo’s Birdbrain (Oiseau de Malheur) in Spring 2011, and the international bestseller Not Before Sundown (Jamais avant le coucher du soleil) in 2003.

Rights of Johanna Sinisalo’s Not Before Sundown has been sold in 14 languages. Birdbrain has been published in the UK & US by Peter Owen and will be published in Norway by Vega in 2012. Birdbrain is nominated for the Prix Escapades 2012 and International Impac Dublin Literary Award 2012.

The Blood of Angels shows what effects bee vanishings have on the whole world’s food economy. The author skillfully merges hard data, her solid knowledge, ancient mythology and the harsh language used on the internet. She is a master of combining different worlds.” – Praise from the P.E. Svinhufvud Literary Prize jury

What is delightful about Johanna Sinisalo’s novels is her way of describing a weird world in a natural way, without emphasizing the weirdness. That’s why it is so easy to accept her visions, to take them as granted, and to focus on the content. What is also pleasing is Sinisalo’s way of limiting the theme: not everything has to be crammed into one novel. The new novel, The Blood of Angels, is fine evidence of these characteristics of a storyteller.” – Suomen Kuvalehti

Please ask for the English sample translation!

Johanna Sinisalo

Johanna Sinisalo (b. 1958) is one of Finland’s most successful and internationally acclaimed authors. Praised by readers and critics alike, she has won several literary prizes, among them the Finlandia Prize in 2000 and the James Tiptree, Jr. Award in 2004. Johanna Sinisalo has been nominated for the Prix Escapades 2012, the Tähtivaeltaja (“Star Traveller”) award in 2014 and the Nebula Award in 2008. Her works have been translated into 19 languages.


Johanna Sinisalo

The Core of the Sun

2013, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

The Blood of Angels

2011, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo


2008, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

Not Before Sundown

2000, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

Hidden Powers

2010, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

The Land of Mobius

2010, Middle-Grade

Johanna Sinisalo

The Glass-Eye

2006, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

The Handless Kings and Other Disturbing Tales

2005, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

Renate’s Story

2018, Fantasy & S/F

Johanna Sinisalo

Strangers Inside

2020 Spring, Fantasy & S/F

Related news